Florida Misdemeanor Criminal Charges
Prosecution for a first-degree misdemeanor must begin within two years after the crime is committed. Examples of first-degree misdemeanors are driving under the influence (DUI) and petty theft.
Prosecution for second-degree misdemeanors must begin within one year after it is committed. Common second-degree misdemeanors are criminal mischief and disorderly intoxication.
Types of Misdemeanor Crimes in Florida – Orlando Criminal Attorney
Misdemeanor crimes are less severe than felony crimes in Florida but you may still face up to 1 year in jail or up to one year of probation along with as much as $1000.00 fines. In order to try to avoid a Florida misdemeanor conviction, you should call Orlando Criminal Defense Attorney, Tracey G. Kagan @ (407) 849-9990